Indonesian sambal recipe

indonesian samal salaa

Ikan sambal mentah is a delicious sambal (hot sauce) from the Bali/Lombok region of Indonesia. I was lucky enough to try it with some grilled red snapper while on the island of Gili Trawangan. It was so spicy I was hyperventilating by the time I finished eating it, but it was so good that I couldn’t stop.

I decided to make my own less spicy version of it and was super pleased with the results.
indonesian sambal ingredients

Ingredients:
– lime
– chili pepper
– lemongrass
– garlic
– tomatoes
– 1 tablespoon of fish sauce
– 2-3 tablespoons of vegetable oil

My only real addition here was to add tomatoes in lieu of more chilies, which makes it more a sambal-salsa hybrid. I cut the lemongrass directly off the plant stalk (white part only). I used Tiparos Thai fish sauce, which is generally saltier than fish sauces from other countries.

Mix all of the ingredients pictured above and the fish sauce together in a bowl. For the last step, heat the vegetable oil on the stove until it is rippling and pour it over the fresh ingredients. You will hear a hissing sound as the smell of delicious spicy and salty goodness is released into your kitchen. Add salt and pepper if desired.

Serve it with grilled seafood, meat or veggies. I wasn’t really prepared for a big meal after I made it, so I just had it with some avocado and tortilla chips. Mmmmmmm.

Leave a Reply

